Wow the New Year has already arrived. I’m not sure about you, but it seems like last week was Thanksgiving. Well, I’m thankful to be able to see the beginning of 2011. A new year, a new decade, a new slate of blog posts for my faithful blog community. Before I get into the things I look forward too in the New Year, I want to address the past year.

2010 was quite an unstable year for me. A year filled with ups and downs. Last year, I lost friends, and possibly made some great friends along the way. I did manage to accomplish much during 2010. I’ve posted below a few highlights regarding my 2010 in review.

2010 in Review

Attend business school– I’m pleased to say that I am rounding my first year of graduate school at Montreat College. The MBA program is teaching me a lot about management and business so far, and I actually enjoy being back in the classroom. I’m definitely looking to continuing my education and graduating in 2012.

Focus more on myself– Although it was hard, but I successfully tackled the task of ending a relationship. After the end, I took time to fully analyze my life.

Working out– I did go to the gym regularly, and I found out, that I need to stick to a strict routine. That’ll work best for me

Travel– Well 2010 was a good year to travel for me. I went to Tennessee as well as Las Vegas. The Tennessee trip was nice but Las Vegas was by far the best trip. And you know what they say, what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.

I’m going to state this for the record, I do not make “resolutions” every New Year. I ‘ve discovered over the years that there’s a big difference between the formation of habits and simply making resolutions. One of the keys to successfully implementing permanent change in our lives revolves around instituting new habits. Once a habit is made, we don’t even have to think about it anymore. It becomes second nature.

The secret to successfully instilling new habits is choosing one habit—and only one—we want to work on at a time, and then focusing on that single habit for about four to six weeks. So with that said, I want to state some habits I want to change in 2011:

  • Develop myself spiritually
  • Discover my passion and purpose in life
  • Improve my health and appearance
  • Write and publish my works
  • Try new things and live outside of my comfort zone
  • Travel more
  • Educate myself on money; to become financially literate