Today is an exciting day for me. A day in which I want to make one of the biggest lifestyle changes ever. I had made a pledge to myself that I would embark on a quest to mind, body, and spirit connection for total health. I am motivated to get myself in the best shape of my life, and to keep pushing myself to unparalleled success.

As many of you know, I am a former high school athlete. When I played football, I had the cockiness of a jock but with a gentleman’s approach (yes ladies, I was a “playa” back in the day lol). One of the things that made me so confident was my physical appearance. As a teen, I had a love-hate relationship with my body. I loved that my body was lean, but I hated that I worked out just for sports. I was not motivated to work out for my personal life. While in undergrad, I was caught up in the hustle-and-bustle of balancing college-life. I seriously did not make time to work out or pay attention to my health.

Now things are different. I have invested time into reading and researching on health and fitness. I came to the conclusion that I want to build a strong, youthful, and attractive body. Gathering the information was quite interesting. So I have come to the conclusion that I want to develop a body, mind, spiritual connection. Simply put, fitness is more than “physical”. It also involves the mind and soul.

Your mind controls your thoughts and emotions, which ultimately control your actions. If you indulge in negative thoughts and emotions, the end result will be that your actions are negative too. Last night, I measured myself and made some adjustments to a workout I had previously created.

The workout I had done today was wonderful. I performed a full-body, brute strength workout that I had created about a month ago. I want to train like an athlete, but cater my workout toward fitness for an active person (such as myself). 

Below is today’s workout:

Squats – 3 sets of 12 reps
Incline Press – 3 sets of 12 reps
Tricep Pulldowns – 3 sets of 12 reps
Recip Overhead Press – 3 sets of 12 reps
Lunges – 3 sets of 12 reps
French Press – 3 sets of 12 reps
Twisting Curls – 3 sets of 12 reps

I followed up my workout running for half a mile on the indoor track. Then I sat in the sauna to help create more sweat. Now that I think of it, I will try to let you guys know how I am doing on my journey to a better body.